Mobile Menu

Rise of the Wolf (Wereworld, Book 1)

Rate This Book
[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

about the book

rise of the wolf


What if you lived in a world ruled by men and women who could shift form at will into fearsome beasts, like bears, lions, and serpents? This is the realm of Lyssia, and it is deadly!

But wait, what about the best-known Were-creature of all, the werewolf? They have been all but wiped out… Only one of the royal line remains.

Drew of Dyrewood lives the expected and ho-hum life of a farmer’s son. Then one day a monster breaks into his home and kills his mother. Feelings take over, his body changes, and Drew fights the monster off! He cradles his mother’s body in his arms and is found like this by his father and brother when they return from work. Thinking that he is the murderer, he is the monster, knowing the secret of the family bloodline…

His father tries to kill him, but the farmer’s sickle, though it pierces Drew, does not kill him. Drew escapes. His body, amazingly, heals! Then Drew realizes the truth. He is the last of the Werewolves, the ancient rulers of Lyssia! When King Leopold, the Werelion who murdered Drew’s true father, learns of Drew’s existence, he puts a price on his head. However, when word gets out that the true heir of the throne has returned, Drew finds himself with plenty of allies ready to take down King Leopold’s tyranny!

No one is more willing to fight with Drew than Gretchen, the beautiful Werefox, who has been forcibly betrothed to Prince Lucas, Leopold’s son.

teachingbooks-bookabout the author

Curtis Jobling


Curtis Jobling is best-known for designing the worldwide hit children’s TV show Bob the Builder! He also did work for “Wallace & Gromit” as well as “Mars Attacks!” His animated series “Frankenstein’s Cat” and “Raa Raa the Noisy Lion” air on the BBC as well!

His work in film and TV has gained him renown, but Curtis’ first love has always been fantasy and horror. Hence his epic fantasy novels in the “Wereworld” series!

Curtis lives in Cheshire, England, with his wife, Emma Jobling, a freelance proofreader and copy editor, and their menagerie of children and pets.

Author website
Wereworld series website


Also by Curtis Jobling:
Max Helsing and the Beast of Bone Creek (Max Helsing : Monster Hunter, Book 2). Viking Juvenile. November 2016.
Max Helsing and the Thirteenth Curse (Max Helsing : Monster Hunter, Book 1). Viking Juvenile. 2015.
War of the Wereworlds (Wereworld, Book 6). Viking Juvenile. 2013.
Storm of Sharks (Wereworld, Book 5). Viking Juvenile. 2013.
Nest of Serpents (Wereworld, Book 4). Viking Juvenile. 2013.
Shadow of the Hawk (Wereworld, Book 3). Viking Juvenile. 2012.
Rage of Lions (Wereworld, Book 2). Viking Juvenile. 2012.

teachingbooks-authorread more!



The Gathering (Darkness Rising, Book 1) by Kelley Armstrong
Maya suspects a relationship between her birthmark, her connection with wild animals, and strange events occurring in her tiny Vancouver community, a town by a medical research facility. When she meets bad boy Rafe, she begins to learn about her emerging abilities and big secrets that are harbored within the research facility.



rage of lions


Rage of Lions (Wereworld, Book 2) by Curtis Jobling
Though the battle has been won, Drew is finding he doesn’t much like the grooming he has to undergo in order to take the throne of Lyssia. A revenge plot by Prince Lucas comes to light, offering Drew the opportunity to flee his kingly obligations and pursue the renegade prince. Then rogue militias of Werelords and invading Catlords rise to take Drew’s power from him!





Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older
This summer Sierra’s plans are to hang out with friends and paint a mural at a nearby Brooklyn junklot. But when a zombie-like creature crashes the first part of the season, Sierra learns that an unknown magic is in the world—and it is part of her legacy. Sierra must discover the secrets of her ancestors before an evil professor steals her powers.